PSCI 0351

Presidents of Fifth Republic

Presidents of the Fifth Republic
In this course we will examine presidential power in France's Fifth Republic, introduced in 1958. We will study the seven presidents of the Fifth Republic - Charles de Gaulle, Georges Pompidou, Valéry Giscard d'Estaing, François Mitterrand, Jacques Chirac, Nicolas Sarkozy, and the current president François Hollande - through memoirs, speeches, research monographs, journal articles, and biographies. We will focus on the content of their domestic and foreign policies as well as their leadership strategies and visions for France in a comparative perspective. (This course will be taught in French; FREN 0230 or by waiver). 3 hrs. lect./disc. and film screenings. (Comparative Politics)/
Political Science
Political Science
Social Sciences
Requirements Fulfilled:
Equivalent Courses:
FREN 0351 *
INTL 0451
ECON 0451

Sections in Fall 2016

Fall 2016

PSCI0351A-F16 Lecture (Eglene)